Public comment invited for district court judgeship candidates


By Jon Sarché | Colorado Judicial Department

The Sixth Judicial District Nominating Commission will meet on Dec. 20 at the La Plata County Courthouse to consider candidates for a vacancy on the Sixth Judicial District Court. 

Eleven candidates have applied for this vacancy. They are Anthony Baca, of Dolores; Christian Champagne, of Durango; Anthony Edwards, of Silverton; Justin Fay, of Pagosa Springs; Sarah Law, of Durango; Matt Margeson, of Dolores; Mary Pero, of Durango; Douglas Reynolds, of Durango; Barbara Stauch, of Denver; Reid Stewart, of Hesperus; and Todd Weaver, of Pagosa Springs.

The rules of procedure for the Sixth Judicial District Nominating Commission require that the names of all applicants be made public when the application period is closed. The application period has now passed and public comment on the qualifications of the applicants is invited. Comments may be directed to any member of the commission, with a copy to the ex officio chair, Justice Melissa Hart, 2 E. 14th Ave., Denver, CO 80203 no later than 4 p.m. on Dec. 14.

The members of the nominating commission for the Sixth Judicial District are: Kathryn Steelman, Ingrid Alt, Barrie Hedges Newberger King, James Cross and Paul DeBell, of Durango; Albert Northrop, of Pagosa Springs; and John Wright, of Silverton.

Contact information for the nominating commission members follows: 

• Kathryn Steelman,

• Albert Northrop,

• Ingrid Alt,

• John Wright,

• Barrie Hedges Newberger King,

• James Cross,

• Paul DeBell,